Nicklaus Children's Hospital, formerly Miami Children's Hospital
Local: 305-666-6511
Toll Free: 800-432-6837
My Kids Patient Portal
Advanced Search

Press Release

     Bookmark and Share


MIAMI – Six area physicians have been newly elected to serve on the Miami Children’s Hospital (MCH) Medical Executive Committee. This 21-member committee serves as the governing body for the hospital’s 650-member medical staff.
            In addition, two physician leaders were reelected to serve as 2011 officers of the Medical Executive Committee. Dr. Luis Gonzalez-Mendoza, pediatric endocrinologist, will serve as president and Dr. Ruben Gonzalez-Vallina, pediatric gastroenterologist, will serve as vice president.
The new members, all elected to serve three-year terms, include: Dr. Harry Aguero, pediatrician; Dr. Marco Danon, pediatric endocrinologist; Dr. Alex Koetzle, neonatologist; Dr. L. Santiago Medina, pediatric radiologist; Dr. William Muiños, pediatric gastroenterologist; and Dr. Jacques Orces, general pediatrician.

About Miami Children’s Hospital:
Founded in 1950 by Variety Clubs International, Miami Children's Hospital® is South Florida’s only licensed specialty hospital exclusively for children, with more than 650 attending physicians and over 130 pediatric sub-specialists. The 289-bed hospital is renowned for excellence in all aspects of pediatric medicine with several specialty programs ranked among the best in the nation in 2008, 2009 and 2010 by U.S.News & World Report. The hospital is also home to the largest pediatric teaching program in the southeastern United States and has been designated an American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) Magnet facility, the nursing profession’s most prestigious institutional honor.