Nicklaus Children's Hospital, formerly Miami Children's Hospital
Local: 305-666-6511
Toll Free: 800-432-6837
My Kids Patient Portal
Advanced Search

Press Release

     Bookmark and Share

Miami Children's Hospital Announce 2009 Medical Staff Election Results

Miami, FL – Miami Children's Hospital’s medical staff elected the following Medical Executive Committee Members and Department Chiefs in the 2009 election:

• Luis Gonzalez-Mendoza, MD, President
• Ruben Gonzalez-Vallina, MD, Vice President
• Ziad Khatib, MD, Geographic Physician
• Steven Stylianos, MD, Geographic Physician
• Jose Bengochea, MD, Community Physician
• Mayra Capote, MD, Community Physician
• Julio Egusquiza, MD, Community Physician
• Ibrahim Amjad, MD, Member At-Large
• Andrea Maggioni, MD, Member At-Large
• Mark S. Webman, DDS, Chief of the Department of Dentistry
• Marco Danon, MD, Chief of the Department of Pediatric Medicine
• Steven Stylianos, MD, Chief of the Department of Pediatric Surgery
• John Ragheb, MD, Chief of the Department of Surgery


Founded in 1950 by Variety Clubs International, Miami Children's Hospital® is South Florida’s only licensed specialty hospital exclusively for children, with more than 650 attending physicians and over 130 pediatric sub-specialists. The 289-bed hospital is renowned for excellence in all aspects of pediatric medicine with several specialty programs ranked among the best in the nation in 2008 and 2009 by U.S.News & World Report. The hospital is also home to the largest pediatric teaching program in the southeastern United States and has been designated an American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) Magnet facility, the nursing profession’s most prestigious institutional honor.