Miami Children's Hospital
Local: 305-666-6511
Toll Free: 800-432-6837
My Kids Patient Portal
Advanced Search

For Medical Professionals
In this section

Graduate Medical Education (GME)

GME Committee (GMEC)

     Bookmark and Share

Graduate Medical Education Committee (GMEC)

The GMEC is responsible for the oversight of the GME programs. The Committee meets monthly.
  • Members: GMEC members are comprised of voting members (Training Program Directors, Teaching Faculty, GME Manager, Institutional Administrative Director of Risk & Quality, Safety & Inovation, & peer-selected Residents and Fellows Representatives), non-voting Administrators (Ex-Officio member (CMO), Legal Counsel, VP for Ethics and Compliance, and Research Institute Director) and non-voting guests (Program Coordinators).
  • Residents and Fellows Representatives: Include the chief residents, and GMEC Housestaff Reps are elected by their peers and have voting rights

  • All Voting members are required to attend 50% of the meetings annually
  • Each co-represenative pair occupy one slot.
  • A quorum is achieved when there is 18 attendees of the voting members (50% of voting members seats +1)


Co-Representative Co-Representative 


Rani Gereige, MD, MPH - Chair
Director of Medical Education
Designated Institutional Official (DIO)
Vivian hernandez-Trujillo, MD Vice Chair
Director, Div. of Allergy-Immunology


Beatriz Cunill, MD
Director, Pediatric Core Program
Maria Behnam-Terneus, DO
Associate Prog Director, Pediatric Core Program
Mark Gabay, DO - Assoc Pediatric Prog Director and Osteopathic Prog Director
Bala Totapally, MD
Director, Pediatric Critical Care Medicine Program
Lorena Siqueira, MD
Director, Adolescent Medicine Program
Jason Katz, MD
Director, pediatric Cardiology Program
Vincenzo Maniaci, MD
Director, Pediatric Emergency Medicine Program
Michael Duchowny, MD
Director, Clinical Neurophysiology Program
Rafael Gosalbez, MD
Director, Pediatric Urology Program 
Ricardo Restrepo, MD
Director, Pediatric Radiology Program
Sanjiv Bhatia, MD
Director, Pediatric Neurosurgery Program
S. Anthony Wolfe, MD
Director, Craniofacial Plastic Surgery Program/ Chad Perlyn, MD Associate Director, Craniofacial Plastic Surgery Program
Cathy Burnweit, MD
Director, Pediatric Surgery Program


Melissa Clemente, MD
Attending, Div of Hospitalist Services and/or Designee
Elyane Haddad, MD
Attending, Div of Hospitalist Services and/or Designee
Jose Rosa-Olivares, MD
Attending, Continuity Clinic General Pediatrics and/or Designee
Jefry Biehler, MD, MPH 
Director, Med Students, FIU Ped Dept Chair
Jesse Reeves-Garcia, MD
Attending, Chief Div of Ped GI (Admin)
Athena Pefkarou, MD
Attending, Div of Ped Hem/Onc
Marisa Azaret, PsyD
Psychologist, Div. of Psychiatry


Daniela Arroyo Larrea, MD           Chief Resident, PGY4
Andrea Ontaneda, MD               Chief Resident, PGY4
PGY1 Rep: Joshua Kurtz, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY1
PGY1 Rep: Ronald Vasquez, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY1
PGY1 Rep: Brianna Ruiz, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY1
PGY2 Rep: Branko Cuglievan, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY2
PGY2 Rep: Naiomi Cohen, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY2
PGY2 Rep: Kavita Desai, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY2
PGY3 Rep: Wengliang Geng, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY3
PGY3 Rep: Gabriella Saca, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY3
PGY3 Rep: Dario Vallarino, MD
Pediatric Resident - PGY3
Fellows Rep: Jose Vargas, MD
Pediatric Emergency Medicine Fellow - PGY6
Fellows Rep: Paul Khalil, MD
Pediatric Emergency Medicine Fellow - PGY4
Fellows Rep: Megan Carns, MD
Pediatric Emergency Medicine Fellow - PGY6
Fellows Rep: Robert Dizor, MD
Pediatric Radiology Fellow
Fellows Rep: Jun Sasaki, MD
Pediatric Cardiac ICU Fellow - PGY7
Fellows Rep: Stacey Humphreys, MD
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine Fellow - PGY6


Cindy Gibson, C-TAGME
GME Manager


Deise Granado-Villar, MD, MPH 
CMO, Sr. VP Med and Acad Affairs
Jacques Orces, DO
Chief Medical Information Officer
Amanda Bhikhari, Esq - Legal Counsel Andre Susla, Esq - Legal Counsel
Sharon Larson, RN, LHRM - Administrative Director, Risk & Quality, Safety & Innovation
Jose Perdomo, Esq - VP, Ethics and Compliance; Director, Research Institute


Alina Gonzalez - Coordinator; Medical Education Ana Otero - Fellowship Coordinator, Medical Education
Galia Huerta - Coordinator Elva Siren - Coordinator
Catalina Dunoyer - Coordinator Massiel Martinez - Coordinator
Mari Carmen Jardines - Coordinator Lisa Howard - Coordinator
Kari Bollerman - Coordinator  Tamara Martinez - Coordinator