Miami Children's Hospital
Local: 305-666-6511
Toll Free: 800-432-6837
My Kids Patient Portal
Search
Advanced Search

For Patients & Families
In this section

Child Life

Meet the Specialists

     Bookmark and Share

Child Life Specialists at Miami Children's Hospital hold a minimum of a bachelor's degree in child life or a closely related field. Upon graduation, Child Life Specialists must complete a 500-hour internship before they are eligible for certification.

Through their specialized training, Child Life Specialists become experts in anticipating the needs and concerns of children in the medical environment. Their training makes them aware of issues that can arise at various ages.

Examples include: 
  • Preschoolers may think they are having blood drawn as punishment
  • School-aged children may blame themselves for having cancer
  • Adolescents covet privacy, independence and peer interaction, and can become withdrawn or feel sad during or after hospitalization.
 
The Miami Children's Hospital Child Life Specialist's participate in a variety of hospital wide committees and programs, these include:
 
  • Cardiac pre-surgical Orientation
  • Scoliosis Orientation
  • Pre-Surgical Orientation
  • Child Life Community Field Trips
  • Nursing Student/New Resident Orientation
  • Child Life Month Activities
  • Bring Your Child to Work Day
  • KAPOW
  • Summer Safety Fair and Teddy Bear Clinic
 
The goal of the Child Life Department is to enhance understanding and awareness of the Child Life Profession within the hospital and community.
 
 
 
Renee Jadusingh-Sabillon, CCLS
Child Life Manager
Certified Child Life Specialist


renee.jadusingh-Sabillon@mch.com
786-624-3931

Karla Filosa, CCLS
Certified Child Life Specialist II
 

 

Regine Duret-Msimanga, CCLS
Certified Child Life Specialist II

regine.duret-msimanga@mch.com
786-624-5482

Unit:
Cardiac/Cardiovascular Surgery

Justine Marty, CCLS
Certified Child Life Specialist I

justine.marty@mch.com
786-624-5484

Unit: Same Day/Ambulatory Surgery

Danielle Furio, CCLS
Certified Child Life Specialist I 

danielle.furio@mch.com

786-624-5325

Unit: Radiology



Brittany Brown, CCLS

Certified Child Life Specialist I

brittany.brown@mch.com
786-624-5488

Unit: Emergency Department

Terri  Hernandez,CLS
Child Life Specialist

teresita.hernandez@mch.com
786-624-5322

Unit: Gastrology/ Nephrology/ Dialysis  3Northeast


Jennifer Oquendo, CLAA
Administrative Child Life Activity Assistant

jennifer.oquendo@mch.com
786-624-3992

Elizabeth Fitzgibbons, CCLS

Certified Child Life Specialist

elizabeth.fitzgibbons@mch.com
786-624-5362

Unit: Emergency Department


Caitlin Thomas, CLS

Child Life Specialist

              

Caitlin.thomas@mch.com

786-624-5483

 

Unit:  Surgery, Orthopedics