Miami Children's Hospital
Local: 305-666-6511
Toll Free: 800-432-6837
My Kids Patient Portal
Search
Advanced Search

For Patients & Families
In this section

Child Life

Meet the Specialists

     Bookmark and Share

Child Life Specialists at Miami Children's Hospital hold a minimum of a bachelor's degree in child life or a closely related field. Upon graduation, Child Life Specialists must complete a 500-hour internship before they are eligible for certification.

Through their specialized training, Child Life Specialists become experts in anticipating the needs and concerns of children in the medical environment. Their training makes them aware of issues that can arise at various ages.

Examples include: 
  • Preschoolers may think they are having blood drawn as punishment
  • School-aged children may blame themselves for having cancer
  • Adolescents covet privacy, independence and peer interaction, and can become withdrawn or feel sad during or after hospitalization.
 
The Miami Children's Hospital Child Life Specialist's participate in a variety of hospital wide committees and programs, these include:
 
  • Cardiac pre-surgical Orientation
  • Scoliosis Orientation
  • Pre-Surgical Orientation
  • Child Life Community Field Trips
  • Nursing Student/New Resident Orientation
  • Child Life Month Activities
  • Bring Your Child to Work Day
  • KAPOW
  • Summer Safety Fair and Teddy Bear Clinic
 
The goal of the Child Life Department is to enhance understanding and awareness of the Child Life Profession within the hospital and community.
 
 
 

Susan Kinnebrew, CCLS
Director of Child Life
Certified Child Life Specialist

susan.kinnebrew@mch.com
305-666-6511 ext. 3871

Renee Jadusingh-Sabillon, CCLS
Child Life Supervisor
Certified Child Life Specialist


renee.jadusingh-Sabillon@mch.com
305-666-6511 ext. 3931

Unit:
Pulmonology 3East

Kim Morales, CCLS
Child Life Supervisor,

kimberly.morales@mch.com
305-666-6511 ext. 3813

Unit:
Emergency Department
Karla Filosa, CCLS
Certified Child Life Specialist II
 
karla.filosa@mch.com
305-666-6511 ext. 3831

Unit:
Pediatric Intensive Care Unit

Regine Duret-Msimanga, CCLS
Certified Child Life Specialist II

regine.duret-msimanga@mch.com
305-666-6511 Ext.3916

Unit:
Cardiac/Cardiovascular Surgery

Justine Marty, CCLS
Certified Child Life Specialist I

justine.marty@mch.com
305-666-6911 ext. 3933

Unit: Hematology/Oncology 3N

Danielle Furio, CCLS
Certified Child Life Specialist I 

danielle.furio@mch.com

305-666-6511 Ext.3841

Unit: Emergency Department

Lauren Falduti, CCLS
Certified Child Life Specialist I

lauren.falduti@mch.com 
305-666-6511 ext. 3841

Unit:
Emergency Department



Brittany Brown, CCLS

Certified Child Life Specialist I

brittany.brown@mch.com
305-666-6511  Ext.3992

Unit: Neurology 3 South 

Terri  Hernandez,CLS
Child Life Specialist

teresita.hernandez@mch.com
305-666-6511 Ext. 5322  

Unit: Gastrology/ Nephrology/ Dialysis  3Northeast

Lauren Whaley, CLS
Child Life Specialist

lauren.whaley@mch.com
305-666-6511  Ext.4874

 

Unit: Radiology


Jennifer Oquendo, CLAA
Administrative Child Life Activity Assistant

jennifer.oquendo@mch.com
305-666-6511 Ext. 3992

Elizabeth Fitzgibbons, CLAA

Child Life Activity Assistant

elizabeth.fitzgibbons@mch.com 305-666-6511 Ext. 4875

Heather Mahony, CCLS

Certified Child Life Specialist

heather.mahony@mch.com 305-666-6511- Ext. 3841

Unit: Emergency Department


Caitlin Thomas, CLS

Child Life Specialist

              

Caitlin.thomas@mch.com

305-666-6511 Ext. 3818

 

Unit:  Surgery, Orthopedics

                 2 East

 

Cody Paradise, CCLS
Certified Child Life Specialist

                

cody.paradise@mch.com   

305-666-6511 Ext. 3992

 

Unit: Emergency Department