Miami Children's Hospital
Local: 305-666-6511
Toll Free: 800-432-6837
My Kids Patient Portal
Advanced Search

For Medical Professionals
In this section

2011 Awards and Recognitions

Awards & Recognition

     Bookmark and Share

Miami Children's Hospital March Of Dimes 2011 Miami-Dade and Monroe nurse of the year Finalists and Winners
Miami Children's Hospital Winners

  • Annalyn Velasquez, ARNP, MSN, CPNP, CCRN, won the Critical Care/Surgical Services category
  • Raquel Pasaron, ARNP, DNP, FNP-BC won in the category of advanced practice.

Miami Children's Hospital Finalists

Advance Practice
  • Cindy M.Ayala, RN, MSN, CPN
  • Patricia Dean, ARNP, MSN
  • Jo Ann Nieves, MSN, CPN, ARNP, PNP-BC, FAHA
  • Elena Ortega, ARNP, MSN, CCRN
  • Raquel Pasaron, ARNNP, DNP, FNNP-BC

Case Management/Care Coordination/Managed Care

  • Maytee Perdomo, RNN, AS
  • Clinical & Academic Education
  • Laura Hernandez, ARNP, MSN, CPN, FNP-C
  • Janice Serrano, RN, BSN

Critical Care/Surgical Services

  • Lorna Allen, RN, BSN
  • Holda Delavoe, RN
  • Melinda Duran, RN, BSN
  • Claudia Martin-Shimizu, RN, BSN ,CNOR
  • Miriam Prado, RN
  • Annalyn Velasquez, ARNP, MSN, CPNP, CCRN


  • Holly Olsen-Aloi, RN, BSN


  • Jane Bragg, RN, MSN,MBA
  • Mirtha Gonzalez, ARNP,MSN


  • Diana Garcia, RN, MSN
  • Flor Tena, RN, MSN

Pediatric/Adolescent Health

  • Erica Pardo, RN, MSN


  • MCH’s Patricia Dean to Receive American Epilepsy Society’s 2011 J. Kiffin Penry Award

    The American Epilepsy Society (AES) has announced that Patricia Dean, ARNP, MSN, a pediatric nurse practitioner and Clinical Coordinator of the Comprehensive Epilepsy Program at Miami Children’s Hospital, has been named recipient of this year’s J. Kiffin Penry Excellence in Epilepsy Care Award.

  • Jackie Gonzalez, ARNP, MSN, NEA-BC, FAAN, Senior Vice President/Chief Nursing Officer, Was inducted on November 4th as President -Elect 2012 of Florida Organization of Nurse Executives (FONE).  Congratulations!

Image of Dr. Bing Wood
September 2011 - Bing Wood recognized by the South Florida Organization of Nurse Executives as Nurse leader of the Year


Florida Nurses Association State Award:
  1. FNA, Nursing Administrator of the Year, Jackie Gonzalez, MSN, ARNP--Vice President/Chief Nursing Officer
  2. FNA, Nurse Practitioner of the Year, Raquel Pasarón, DNP, ARNP, FNP-BC
Florida Nurses Association South Region Symposium and Awards Ceremony held on Saturday, April 16, 2011.
  1. Laura Hernandez: Nurse Educator Award—Winner
  2. Diana Garcia: Nursing Administration Award—Winner
  3. Raquel Pasarón: Advanced Practice Nursing Award—Finalist
  4. MCH Nursing Team (Jackie Gonzalez)--Community Action Award—Finalist
  5. MCH NICU Nursing Team--Promotion of Excellence Award—Winner

Society for Pediatric Nursing 2011 National Conference in Las Vegas, NV -- Maria Soto, MSN, ARNP, Carmen Duque, MSN, ARNP, Dr. Simpser/2nd place (Clinical Practice Award) - “Caring for the Ventilator Dependent Pediatric Patient in a Medical Surgical Unit” (Poster).

JoAnn Nieves, MSN, ARNP, PNP-BC-on April 30, 2011, was elected as a Fellow of the American Heart Association by the leadership committee of the Council on Cardiovascular Disease in the Young. 


2011 Nurse of the Year Winner
RN of the Year
LifeFlight: Kenneth Patino, BSN, RN, CPN

LPN of the year:

Andres Valencia, LPN
Rookie of the year:

Emergency Department: Lizette Rivera, BSN, RN, CPN

Leader of the year:

IV team and Dialysis:  Solfia Torre, BSN, RN, CDN

Nursing support staff of the year:

2 East- Evangeline Juggan, CA

Scholar of the year:
CICU-Jacqueline Whyte, BSN, RN, CPN

Professional Services of the Year:
3 South-Patricia Dean, MSN, ARNP, PNP

Unit base winners:
2E: Chau Nguyen, BSN, RN
2NE: Andrea Downs, RN
3N: Annette Caravia, MSN, RN, CPN
3E: Inga Bolanos, BSN, RN, CPN
3S: Karen Ricketts, RN, CPN
2N:  Cristina Meca, BSN, RN, CPN
Same Day Surgery:  Jannette Martinez, BSN, RN, CPN
CICU:  Shannon Hutcherson, BSN, RN
ED/Rapid Care:  Carolyn Ramirez, BSN, RN, CPEN
NICU:  Miriam Prado, RN
OR: Jessica Jameson, BSN, RN
PICU: Christina Forcine, MSN, RN, CCRN, CPN
Psychiatry: Shirley Kendzora, RN, MSN, APRN-BC
PACU: Bill Gehring, RN
MRI/Radiology: Amy Hollifield, BSN, RN
UCC: Verna Haik, BSN, RN, CPN
Minor Procedure Suites: Marlene Marquez, RN
Pediatric Care Center: Diane Litchman, RN, CPN
3NE:Arnold Jumagbas, BSN, RN
IV Team: Alicia Lue, RN, VA-BC
Dialysis: Vanessa Polumbarit, BSN, RN